Smog check requirements by state

Each state has individual and very specific guidelines requiring smog checks and emissions testing. Each state is listed below, and the information is correct at time of writing. If you are unsure whether your vehicle is subject to smog checks, contact your local motor vehicle authority.

Alabama – No test

Alaska – No test

Arizona – All vehicles manufactured after 1967 are subject to annual smog tests

Arkansas – No test

California – All vehicles manufactured after 1975 are subject to smog tests. Any vehicle less than six years old is not, but a
$20 Smog Abatement Fee is required

Colorado – Colorado has very complex rules on emissions and smog checks. They vary based on area, residency status, and the age of your vehicle. Contact your DMV for more information

Connecticut – Any vehicle more than four years old, but less than twenty-five years old must be checked once every two years

Delaware – Vehicles under five years old don’t need a smog check, but all others need annual tests

Florida – No test

Georgia – All vehicles between three and twenty-five years old require annual testing

Hawaii – No test

Idaho – Annual testing required only in Northern Ada County, but no testing required elsewhere

Illinois – All vehicles newer that 1967 require testing every two years

Indiana – Passenger vehicles registered in Clark, Floyd, Lake, and Porter counties will require a complete smog check every two years.

Iowa – No test

Kansas – No test

Kentucky – No test

Louisiana - Emissions inspections are only required in certain areas. Check with your local motor vehicle authority to see if your vehicle is affected

Maine – Only vehicles registered in Cumberland County must undergo an emissions inspection

Maryland - The year of your vehicle determines what sort of testing it will undergo. Vehicles from the current two model years are exempt

Massachusetts – Annual testing is required on certain vehicles. Check with your local motor vehicle authority to see if your vehicle is affected

Michigan – No test

Minnesota – No test

Mississippi – No test

Missouri – Annual emissions inspections are required if you register a vehicle in these areas: St. Louis City, St. Louis County, St. Charles County, Franklin County, and Jefferson County

Montana – No test

Nebraska – No test

Nevada – Vehicles registered in Clark and Washoe counties are required to have annual emissions checks if the vehicle is newer than 1968

New Hampshire- Annual vehicle emissions inspection and smog tests are required for vehicles newer than 1996

New Jersey – Vehicles older than four years are required to pass an emissions inspection once every two years

New York – An emissions inspection is required every year

North Carolina – All vehicles newer than 1996 require an annual emissions test.

North Dakota – No tests

Ohio – Annual emissions checks are required in Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, and Summit counties.

Oklahoma – No test

Oregon – Emissions checks are required every two years

Pennsylvania – Annual

Rhode Island – Vehicles are required to pass an emissions test every two years. Cars less than two years old, older than twenty-five years, and electric cars are exempt.

South Carolina – No test

South Dakota – No test

Tennessee – Vehicles registered in Davidson, Hamilton, Rutherford, Sumner, Williamson, and Wilson counties, as well as those registered in Memphis, require annual emissions checks.

Texas – Texas has emissions counties and non-emissions counties. Check with your local motor vehicle authority to check what type of county you live in. In emissions counties, you need annual emissions checks.

Utah – To register a car in Salt Lake, Davis, Utah, or Weber counties that is less than six years old, the vehicle must pass an emissions test once every two years

Vermont – No emissions tests are required, but annual onboard diagnostic systems checks are mandatory

Virginia - Certain areas in Virginia require your vehicle to pass emissions inspections every two years. Check with your local motor vehicle authority to see if you are affected.

Washington - Hybrid vehicles are exempt from emission testing. All other vehicles between five and twenty-five years old that are registered in Clark, King, Pierce, Snohomish and Spokane counties require biannual emissions checks

West Virginia – No test

Wisconsin - Vehicles newer than 1996 in Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Sheboygan, Washington, and Waukesha counties require testing before annual registration renewal.

West Virginia – No test

Wyoming – No test

Washington, D.C. – Biannual emissions inspections are required for all vehicles within the District of Columbia.

Why book on MyTime?

Find open appointments
Find deals
Free to use!
  • Mytime-logo
  • iPhone App
  • Iphone_image_web
  • Get the App!

    • Book appointments on-the-go
    • Keep your favorite businesses
      right in your pocket
    • Find deals near you
  • Logo_large
  • iPhone App
  • Iphone_large
  • Book
    on the go!